In the Realm of the Senses (1/27/12)

In the Realm of the SensesMovie Seventeen

Two things I did not know about In the Realm of the Senses going into it:

  1. How graphic it is
  2. That it is based on true events

When I say the movie is graphic, I mean it. This is easily the most graphic thing I have ever watched but everything shown feels very clinical, not sexual. It’s also not gratuitous, everything shown serves a purpose, though not necessarily a clear purpose at first.

As the movie finished and I learned the movie was based on true events I immediately went to Wikipedia to learn more. The true story is even more awe inspiring than the movie and not knowing the outcome was a bit of a shock.

There isn’t much to the movie, a woman meets a married man and they are instantly addicted to each other. Things start to get weird as they spend more and more time together and eventually things snap. It’s almost like Sid and Nancy where two people are just hopelessly involved and can’t get out of the hole they are digging.

In the Realm of the Senses is a movie that I enjoyed watching but I would struggle to watch it again. That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy it, I did, and I was thinking about the events for days. Some films just wouldn’t feel the same on a second viewing, I guess.

I give it 3 sake bombs out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

2 responses to “In the Realm of the Senses (1/27/12)

  1. Pingback: January Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

  2. Pingback: Shame (4/18/12) | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

