Raising Arizona (1/20/12)

Raising ArizonaMovie Twelve

I love Coen brother movies and Raising Arizona is no exception. One of my favorite films ever is The Big Lebowski (we even named our dog after him) and Raising Arizona is certainly a movie I could watch no matter what mood I am in.

The story centers around career criminal Nic Cage, who falls for a cop (Holly Hunter). The couple decide they want kids but can’t have any so they decide to kidnap one of the Arizona family quintuplets and raise it as their own. Like any good Coen brother film, stories twist and weave all over the place without feeling too hectic and all come back to one single place.

A few years ago, before Nic Cage became a caricature of himself, watching him in this movie he was in perfect form. Watching it now, knowing how ridiculous his career has become…Well, it’s refreshing to have the old Nic Cage back, even though he is still silly.

Even writing about Raising Arizona immediately got the theme song stuck in my head and I could probably watch the whole diaper theft scene right now.If you don’t know what I’m talking about, please do yourself a favor and watch Raising Arizona.

I give it 4 jars of hair grease out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

6 responses to “Raising Arizona (1/20/12)

    • Thanks! Glad you like it

      I’m playing catch up with the entries since I’ve been tracking what I’ve watched, but not writing about it. Soon I will be on track for writing what I’m currently watching and I won’t be spamming new entries all the time 😉

      • That does not change your blog is fantastic … Unfortunately I’m a little disenchanted with Western cinema and my favorite movies, which I published in my blog, are mostly Asian … but I also have to catch up with them… 🙂

  1. Pingback: January Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

  2. is a brilliant film. i normally dislike anything with cage, but i loved the movie despite him. holly hunter is brilliant, as usual. the dialogue and editing keep it moving. the chase scene was equalled only by the one in “the blues brothers.” probably my favorite moment was the very emphatic but subtle line by the father, when asked to help identify the missing child by telling the police what the baby was wearing. first he says, “pajamas.” when they ask what they looked like, he says, “i don’t know. they had yodas and shit on them.”

    unfortunately, it’s one of those lines that can’t be translated through text. has to be seen to be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

