Captain America (2/28/12)

Captain AmericaMovie Thirty Nine

Captain America surprised me. When Marvel announced they were going to make an Avengers movie, I was kind of excited. I haven’t been a big comic fan in the last decade or so, but comic books have always been something I enjoy. Captain America is not one of my favorite comic books, so I expected a rushed movie just to sell the Avengers down the road. I was wrong.

Captain America has been made into a movie before, and actually that was one of the first DVDs I ever watched. Needless to say, it left a sour taste in my mouth for the character. Luckily, the new movie about Cap treats the franchise with utmost care and it turns out to be a pretty good action/superhero movie.

As an origin story to the character, we see Steve Rogers as a 90 pound weakling that wants to get into the army during World War II. He is eventually accepted into a program that turns him into a super soldier by enhancing all of his qualities, not just his bulk. At the same time, the Nazis are formulating a similar program and the film’s villain, Red Skull, is created in the same manner as Captain America. Obviously the effects are the opposite on his personality and he ends up horribly disfigured.

The film really gives us a detailed account of what makes Steve Rogers become Captain America. Almost too much detail. While I thought the action in the second half of the film really made the time fly, there is quite a bit leading up to those points, some of which may not have been absolutely necessary. Overall, Captain America tells a great story and sets up the upcoming Avengers movie perfectly.

I boldly stated that Captain America was in my top 5 superhero movies of all time, but after thinking about that for a minute discovered that isn’t true (I had forgotten about Nolan’s Batman movies somehow). Most likely in my top 10, though. I was surprised that I would be interested in seeing Captain America’s origin story play out, but it really does make a good movie. Fans of the comics should be pleased.

I give it 4 “I didn’t know Stanley Tucci was in Captain America!”s out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

4 responses to “Captain America (2/28/12)

  1. Pingback: February Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

  2. Pingback: Iron Man 2 (3/23/12) | Andy Watches Movies

  3. Pingback: The Avengers (5/12/12) | Andy Watches Movies

  4. Pingback: Thor (9/22/12) | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

