Say Anything (3/1/12)

Say AnythingMovie Forty One

If I had to pick one 80s high school coming-of-age movie to watch for the rest of my life, I think I would pick Say Anything.

On the surface, one might assume the plot of Say Anything is just about teenagers falling in love but it is actually a much deeper movie than it lets on. While Lloyd Dobler (John Cusack) is a loveable outcast who falls in love with the school valedictorian, Diane Court (Ione Skye) without her really knowing Lloyd even exists. He convinces Diane to go to a graduation party blowout. They have that one magical summer before Diane leaves to study abroad but she is torn between her new flame and her father (John Mahoney). Mr. Court has his own problems with the IRS while all of this is going on, a storyline that I’ve understood much better as I’ve gotten older.

This is one of the rarer 80s movies where all of the characters learn from their experiences and it doesn’t feel cheesy. We do not know how things end for everyone, but we do not need to. I absolutely love the final sequence of the movie and it gives me goosebumps every. Single. Time. There are several scenes that either choke me up or give me goosebumps, actually. For my generation, I would call Say Anything a must-see and for all other generations I would give it my highest recommendation.

I give it 5 IN YOUR EYES out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

4 responses to “Say Anything (3/1/12)

  1. This movie was very special to me as a teenager, as I was dating a Lloyd Dobler of my very own. Watching it as an adult, with that relationship over 8 years behind me, was a very different experience.

  2. Pingback: March Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

  3. Pingback: High Fidelity (7/15/12) | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

