Slugs (4/24/12)

SlugsMovie Ninety Six

I’m not going to sugarcoat it; Slugs is a terrible movie.

While browsing Netflix Instant Watch with Julian before leaving for Ebertfest, we happened on Slugs. I had mis-remembered a scene that had scared me as a kid and we thought we might be in for a so-bad-its-good horror movie. Oh, we were wrong.

Slugs starts off with a series of people encountering the slugs and possibly getting killed. I say “possibly” because there is no violence on screen, it always cuts away to the next group. After about 10-15 minutes of these cutaways we had two questions: 1) Would we get to see any slug-related violence? 2) Is the whole movie going to be random people getting eaten by slugs or is there a plot?

Turns out there is something that sort of resembles a plot in Slugs but it’s pitiful…Along with the acting, script, sets, production values, et cetera. The first half of the film you may get some enjoyment out of based on the sheer absurdity of it, but the second half of the film takes itself so deadly serious that it practically put us to sleep. Unless you really enjoy terrible horror movies, and I admit they can be fun, Slugs fails at even being enjoyable enough to make fun of as it drags on.

I give it 1 yes, this really happens in the movie out of 5.

(this is my first 1 star review, for anyone keeping track)

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

32 responses to “Slugs (4/24/12)

  1. Now i am going to tell you a weird nightmare i had as a kid, this guy was on an operating thing with his head being operated on with prongs holding his skull open when a worm jumped into his head and the skull shut closed and then he started wriggling around the ground, then i woke up πŸ˜€

  2. I wonder if this movie could be any worse than “Squirm,” about killer earthworms. That movie featured a memorable scene where worms comes out of a showerhead.

    • Ah, another one I’ve seen…I think it’s better than Slugs.
      Slugs is very disjointed because it was filmed in the US and in Spain. This also causes about half of the voice actors to have their voice dubbed, seemingly all by the same guy.

  3. I’ve never seen it, but sounds really, really awful. I’m not a big fan of horror movies, but I’m wondering how anyone could make something legitimately scary, not laughable, about slugs?

    • When I said I had “mis-remembered” a scene from this movie…My memory was that of extremely fast moving slugs that bored into your skin or entered your mouth. I’m still not sure what movie that happens in (if it happened at all), Also not sure if that would actually be scary or if I was just scared because I was a little kid.

  4. I too was thinking about Squirm when I saw this review pop up. I have seen both Slugs and Squirm. It looks like I gave them both two stars on Netflix.

    Nice review.

    • If I didn’t laugh so much during the first half, I probably wouldn’t have even finished it. The way I see it, if I finish a movie it is at least worthy of one star…But you’re right, it IS generous in the case of Slugs.

  5. Pingback: April Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

  6. Ha! Ha! I love this movie…I am one of those nuts that think this is so bad it’s good! The dialog is hilariously bad and it is surprisingly gory for a film about killer slugs. The whole premise is utterly ridiculous! One of my favourite lines was “You don’t have the authority to declare Happy Birthday.” The sheriff dude was insanely cranky!

    • Well, one bites a man’s finger off that sets off a chain reaction of events that leads to the house exploding. A man accidentally eats one that was in a group of vegetables and his face explodes with parasitic worms. A mass of worms devour a naked couple in their bedroom because the couple went to the trouble of wading through the slugs to escape… I mean they’re mutant, killer slugs. They can do what they want.

      My favorite part still has to be the closeup of the slug that somehow has fangs and bites the guy on the finger. Yep. This is the scientifically accurate pinnacle of cinema.

  7. Pingback: The Movie Freak Blog – Movie Questionnaire | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

