Paris, Texas (4/30/12)

Paris, TexasMovie One Hundred Nine

Paris, Texas is a beautiful film from Wim Wenders about a man looking to make his life complete.

From the start, Paris, Texas is a slow building film about realistic characters living their lives. Travis (Harry Dean Stanton), a seemingly mute amnesiac, is wandering the desert and ends up at a roadside doctor. The doctor finds his brother, Walt (Dean Stockwell), who travels from L.A. to get Travis. We learn that Travis’ son has been living with Walt and his wife, who adopted him when Travis and his wife disappeared one day. The film follows Travis on his journey to find Paris, Texas and reconnect with his son.

The last Wim Wenders film I wrote about (Wings of Desire) was a beautiful film, both visually and audibly, but to me, Paris, Texas is a more touching, personal film. For the first hour, you may be wondering what could possibly happen in the film and how it could even end, but the final sequence is so moving that when the film ends you will still be reeling from what you just witnessed. For me, it’s a film that stays with you long after the end credits begin rolling.

As a huge fan of Criterion Collection releases, Paris, Texas is one of the best sets available. Aside from being a fantastic movie, the special features are plentiful and the sound and picture of the Blu-Ray is spectacular. While the film is not for everyone, those willing to have a slow paced character film will likely be touched and I think it may jump to some favorites lists. The first time I watched this, the ending was sort of interrupted and while I was still quite impressed with the film, a second viewing was necessary and an absolute joy to get to watch again. I look forward to my third time viewing Paris, Texas.

I give it 5 wandering Travis’ out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

9 responses to “Paris, Texas (4/30/12)

  1. Loved Harry’s moment in the Avengers. I might have to check this one out. I don’t think I have seen it.

    • Then I wholeheartedly recommend viewing it again!
      All things considered, there isn’t much dialogue in the film, so I could see it not sticking with you if you are more of an audial person.

  2. Pingback: April Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

  3. It has been a number of years since I’ve seen this one. I love Harry Dean Stanton…I think I will need to re-watch this soon!

    • I think it’s the type of film that I’m going to watch every year at least once just because it’s so enchanting for some reason. Let me know what you think if you end up watching it!

Leave a Reply

