Tyrannosaur (5/25/12)

TyrannosaurMovie One Hundred Twenty Eight

Tyrannosaur is a film about a man with a hair trigger temper and a woman who struggles with her own issues at home as they become friends.

The opening scene of Tyrannosaur is Joseph (Peter Mullan) storming out of a bar, swearing up a storm, mad at something and takes his anger out on his best friend; his trusting dog. Visibly shaken by this, Joseph goes home to mourn his friend and buries him. Peter finds himself passed out in front of a thrift shop where the owner, Hannah (Olivia Colman), takes him in. Despite the kindness she shows him, Joseph lashes out at Hannah and we see a man that is mad at everything and cannot seem to control it. Hannah and Joseph form an unlikely friendship as we learn the secrets of their lives and understand why they connect.

A difficult movie to put into words, Tyrannosaur is one of the most powerful films I’ve ever seen. I was unsure where the film would take me but I can safely say that I was not expecting where we ended up. Joseph is such an unlikable human being and yet there is such extreme sadness waiting just beneath his raging exterior. Peter Mullan does such a frightening and gentle portrayal that leaves you wondering if Joseph is someone you should be rooting for or not. Olivia Colman also gives a fantastic performance and her character surprises even more than Joseph.

When I found out the meaning behind the title of Tyrannosaur, I was floored. It is but one of the powerful moments in Tyrannosaur that will likely leave its imprint on you. I found myself completely engrossed in the film and several scenes were like sledgehammers to the chest. It’s hard to say I enjoyed watching it, but like Steve McQueen’s films Hunger and Shame, there is a beauty in all the ugly things happening on screen. I would be hard pressed to watch Tyrannosaur again anytime soon, but I would definitely recommend it.

I give it 4 sledgehammering sheds out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

11 responses to “Tyrannosaur (5/25/12)

  1. This sounds like a powerful movie. However, I’m not sure if I could endure it. I’ll have to think about this one. Glad you liked it. It reminds me of a book I read recently. It was beautifully written but the subject matter was difficult to stomach.

    • Since the film begins with a dog being kicked to death it requires a high tolerance. It would be hard to recommend to anyone based on the subject matter but as a film it’s outstanding.

    • You’re quite welcome, thank you for commenting!

      I hadn’t even considered the funeral being the brightest part of the film but you are absolutely right. That certainly puts the whole picture in perspective.

  2. Pingback: May Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

  3. Pingback: Submarine (11/5/12) | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

