Until the Light Takes Us (6/4/12)

Until the Light Takes UsMovie One Hundred Thirty Five

Until the Light Takes Us is a documentary about the black metal scene the emerged from Norway in the early 90s.

This is normally where I lend a paragraph to summarize the plot or subject of the film, but in the case of Until the Light Takes Us I am having difficulty doing this. While the film intends to be a bit of a history lesson about Norwegian black metal, it’s meandering and at least 15 years too late to be shocking. Even Wikipedia doesn’t have an entry for what the film is about.

While black metal has made headlines for the past 20 years, it is mostly for church burning, self-mutilation and even several murders. All of this is discussed through interviews with band members and people involved in the scene. Some of the tales have been embellished or exaggerated, most are true to some extent, which makes the subject itself interesting, at least.

As I said before, Until the Light Takes Us is at least 15 years too late to be shocking or, apparently, interesting. I have limited knowledge of the metal sub-genre and learned very little by the film. In fact, in studying for this review, I actually learned more on Wikipedia’s pages for some of the artists interviewed. If you aren’t a fan of black metal you will not only be totally disgusted by some of the things shown, but also likely bored and annoyed by the film. As far as documentaries go I found Until the Light Takes Us  a bit directionless but at least I was partially entertained.

I give it 2 Varg Vikernes Wikipedia pages (seriously more insightful and informative than the film) out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

11 responses to “Until the Light Takes Us (6/4/12)

  1. I think I have seen this on Netflix. Obviously, if I can’t remember or not, it must not have made an impression. While I am not a black metal fan, I am a metal fan, so I am sure I did watch it.

  2. I will say this I love my metal and I love the insane stuff as well, but even Death Metal is too much for me. It doesn’t surprise me that this movie gave you fits with the summary.

  3. The film does not intend to be a history lesson. Read any interview with the director. This film is simply smarter than you.

  4. Pingback: June Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

