Cold Sweat [1970] (7/8/12)

Movie One Hundred Sixty One

In Cold Sweat, a man’s new life falls apart when he is visited by a man from his past and has to protect his wife and daughter.

Joe Martin (Charles Bronson) lives in France with his wife, Fabienne (Liv Ullman) and young daughter. One day, he comes home and receives a strange call. Shortly after, a group of men break into the house and we find out the Joe Martin’s real name is Moran and he is was in the army and an ex-con. The group of men used to work with him, but ended up going to jail and have been holding a grudge. When the men kidnap Fabienne and their daughter, it’s up to Joe to get them back and exact his revenge.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but I love Charles Bronson. He’s not the greatest actor ever, but there’s something about him that simply mesmerizes me while he’s on screen and he’s just such a badass all the time. It must get exhausting being that awesome. In Cold Sweat, Bronson is just playing a vengeful father that he would perfect in his 1974 outing, Death Wish.

Cold Sweat itself starts off pretty strong and then gets lost in its own plot and tries to focus on things that aren’t important instead of just giving us some action, car chases and great Bronson badassery. The car chases alone are almost worth watching the whole movie, actually. While they aren’t some of the greatest chases in cinematic history, they may be the best thing about this film. Sometimes it’s fun to just turn off your brain and watch a kinda-sorta cheesy action movie and Cold Sweat fits the bill. As far as Charles Bronson movies go, if you’re a fan like me, it’s not too shabby, but without Bronson, this movie would be no fun.

I give it 3 Charles Bronson (the hardcore band) set to the best parts of Cold Sweats out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

11 responses to “Cold Sweat [1970] (7/8/12)

  1. This is one of those films that has fallen through the cracks with me. However, perhaps I’ll finally give it a look. I rather liked Bronson, especially in the 60’s where I think he actually acquainted himself quite well and gave many interesting and underrated performances. (His onscreen sense of humor was never properly exploited.) One odd thing, I think as a general rule his performances were superior sans the mustache. (See “Hard Times”). Now, why is that?

    • Haha, his mustache…I think once he grew the mustache he got typecast in this type of role. Personally, I prefer him with the mustache.

      Whenever I go to a DVD store and I see packages of films with Bronson in them I get them. This was one of those purchases, so I’m sure I’ll post about the other films soon.

  2. Pingback: My July Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

