Movie Confessions Blogathon

Since I haven’t yet had the opportunity to do a blogathon and it’s Monday and I’m hating every second of the day because of that…let’s give this a shot!

Nostra over at myfilmviews.com started this idea for a blogathon, details can be found here if you’d like to participate or see the the other participants.

Without further ado…

Which classic movie don’t you like/can’t enjoy and why?

Since the first movie that came to my mind was West Side Story, I’ll just go ahead and lump other classic musicals in with it. I like music and I like movies so musicals should be a no-brainer for me but for some reason I can barely sit through the majority of them.

Which ten classic movies haven’t you seen yet?

Oh, this is tough…

  • City of God
  • The Wild One
  • Once Upon a Time in America
  • All About Eve
  • Wages of Fear
  • Birth of a Nation
  • Cool Hand Luke
  • Great Dictator
  • Fanny and Alexander
  • The Bicycle Thief

Have you ever sneaked into another movie at the cinema?

I used to go a movie and then sneak into another movie afterward for my own double-features, but I never bought tickets for a movie and then sneaked into a different one.

Which actor/actress do you think is overrated?

George Clooney even though I do enjoy him occasionally, for the most part all I can see is smooth, charming George Clooney. I don’t think there has ever been a role where I can fully accept his character is anyone else but George Clooney. That’s not to say he’s a bad actor, just not much of a chameleon in his roles which takes me out of it. Same goes for Johnny Depp.

From which big director have you never seen any movie (and why)?

I don’t think there is a single “big director” that I haven’t seen a single movie from but I will confess to never having seen a Charlie Chaplin full-length film until last year (the film was Modern Times).

Which movie do you love, but is generally hated?

For a really long time, Starship Troopers was one of my most-watched films in constant circulation alongside Kubrick and Scorsese movies. It seemed that no one else appreciated the film like I did. However, f I was going off of Rotten Tomato scores, then C.H.U.D. takes the top award with a whopping 18%.

Have you ever been “one of those annoying people” at the cinema?

Jeez, I sincerely hope not. Even as a teen, when my friends were acting like morons in the theater I would get irritated.

Did you ever watch a movie, which you knew in advance would be bad, just because of a specific actor/actress was in it? Which one and why?

I saw Righteous Kill because Robert De Niro and Al Pacino were in it, does that count? Oh, and I’ve seen a plethora of pretty weak Charles Bronson movies just because of Charles Bronson.

Did you ever not watch a specific movie because it had subtitles? 

Maybe as a teenager I did this more often but I’ve never shunned black and white or foreign films just for the sake of it. I will admit to picking English-speaking films over foreign ones when I know I may not be giving 100% of my attention just so I don’t miss any dialogue.

Are there any movies in your collection that you have had for more than five years and never watched?

I received Munich as a gift about 5 years ago and it’s still sealed and I’ve never seen it. I think I have True Lies (which I’ve seen) still sealed too, and I got that in like a Wal-Mart $2 bin ages ago. I have many other films in my collection that are sealed, mostly from the Criterion Collection, but I’ve had them for less than 5 years.

Which are the worst movies in your collection and why do you still own them?

I recently purged some of my DVD collection to make room for Blu-Rays so I’m this is a bit tough. C.H.U.D. may take the top spot for this question too since I proudly own that. I also own a Roger Corman collection of films that I’m sure are mostly (if not entirely) crap but I love me some Corman movies so I don’t plan on getting rid of them.

Do you have any confessions about your movie watching setup at home?

I have spent thousands of dollars on a big TV and surround sound for my movie watching in my basement, but most of the time I watch films on the couch in our family room with my wife on a 32″ TV with no surround sound and a lot of light pollution. Oh, I also watch movies with closed captioning on, even if playing at full volume. I just like reading, I guess.

Any other confessions you want to make?

I’m lactose intolerant.
Oh, more movie confessions? Even though Kubrick was my favorite director at the time (arguably still my favorite), the first time I watched Eyes Wide Shut I skipped all of the plot details that didn’t include nudity.

47 responses to “Movie Confessions Blogathon

  1. Pingback: Movie Confessions Blogathon « My Filmviews

    • I’m a visual learner so I think that reading the dialogue (as well as hearing it) helps me become fully immersed in a film. Sometimes the captioning helps detail some things that may have been lost due to poor post-production mixing where dialogue gets pushed down and explosions get maximized.

  2. Nice post. I’ve seen Birth of a Nation, and I don’t really like it. The film is well made, but it celebrates the KKK and is pretty discriminatory.

    I also think Johnny Depp is a pretty overrated actor. He usually plays such a weird role that I have a tough time liking some of his films.

    • As a part of film history, Birth of a Nation is something I feel like I need to see at some point but the subject matter is what has held me back. It’s kept me from watching more of DW Griffith’s films, actually.
      I like Depp’s older work but ever since Pirates of the Caribbean I’ve been totally put off by him.

  3. Ok…I’m going to try to get over the Depp comment. He’s one of my faves, however, I will admit that some of his recent roles have let me down. I still think he’s awesome. Not too excited about all of the sequels and remakes though.

    I’m trying to think if I’ve ever jumped into another theater after watching the one I paid for. I guess if I have to really think I haven’t done it. I hope not. I’m not big into stealing. Besides, I was never a “cool” teen.

    • I think if they had made only one Pirates of the Caribbean films I’d still be my Depp-loving self, those really soured me.
      I definitely got popcorn and drink for the film I was piggy-backing on. Not sure if that makes up for it in the eyes of the movie gods, though.

  4. Glad to hear someone else thinks Clooney is overrated. I’d throw in Pitt as well, and his also Angelina!

    You haven’t watched True Lies? I thought it’s quite fun! Wow, $2 bucks on the bargain bin, not bad at all!

    • If Pitt wasn’t in Seven or Fight Club he would have made my list. I’ll agree that I don’t see the fuss about Angelina at all.
      I have seen True Lies, just never opened the DVD that I bought of it 😉

      • I like Seven because there’s Morgan Freeman and I like Ed Norton more in Fight Club. I think Pitt only impressed me in Legends of the Fall but that was years ago before he became so famous and again, overrated.

  5. I haven’t seen enough classic musicals to write off the genre, but I agree with you about West Side Story. In fact, I’d put that one in the “comically bad” territory — there is something just absolutely ridiculous about watching street gangs sing and dance their way into a rumble.

    I haven’t seen most of your unseen classics either, but I literally just watched The Great Dictator, and I think if you like classic films it’s definitely one to check out. And Cool Hand Luke is fantastic.

    I like George Clooney, but I know what you mean about him just being George Clooney in a movie more than really playing a character. Jack Nicholson is a lot the same way.

    • West Side Story also loses points for being fairly racist, but you’re right…Prancing street gangs are nothing but laughable.

      I own Great Dictator so I will get around to watching it eventually, it’s a film I know I’ll like it’s just a matter of sitting down with it. Cool Hand Luke is probably the film I’m most ashamed of not seeing, especially after Newman died.

      As for Nicholson…Yes, it is the same thing and yet I give Jack a free pass because I love watching him. I realize that is horribly hypocritical of me, though.

  6. I hate Clooney, love Brad Pitt and Johnny Depp, but hate Clooney. I’m the same way with Close Captioning, I am a young man and I use it with almost every film I watch on Netflix streaming. This was fun to read.

  7. Pingback: Movie Confessions Blogathon « Bishop the Reviewer

  8. Pingback: Movie Confessions Blogathon « Rorschach Reviews

  9. I love the Eyes Wide Shut confession. We’ve all been there, looking for the nudey bits and skipping all the other parts.

    I’m glad to see you finally came around to Chaplin, and I believe Modern Times to be one of his best, if not the best film he’s made. Good way to start watching his stuff.

    As for stuff you haven’t seen, you need to watch City of God like yesterday. Also, having Munich sealed for 5 years is close to being a sin, as that’s one of Spielberg’s most underrated movies.

    And I am sorry you watched Righteous Kill.

    • Eyes Wide Shut surely isn’t the only film I’ve done that with, but it’s the one I’m most ashamed of.

      I really have no excuse for City of God. I know I’ll be blown away by it and I know I need to see it I just haven’t. Yet. Munich is even less excusable since I literally have had countless opportunities to watch it since it’s just sitting there on a shelf in my house.

  10. Great post, I’m in the same camp with loving Starship Troopers and I’m actually sad to say that I haven’t seen any Bronson movies (which is surprising since I have a soft spot for vigilante movies and Death Wish should be right up my alley)

    Anyways I’m actually a fan of Clooney’s recent work (Up in the Air is one of my favorites of his, and O Brother Where art Thou is a close second) but I can understand your reasons for not liking him.

    Anyways, I posted a link to your post in my entry in this blogathon, Cheers 🙂

    • Pretty much all of his mustache-era films were revenge flicks to some extent and Death Wish is pretty much the definition of Bronson being a badass. A lot of his films are on Netflix Instant if that makes it easier.

      I love a lot of movies Clooney is in (Up in the Air especially) but Clooney himself just plays Clooney. Even his smirk makes it into every single movie of his. I think From Dusk Til Dawn was one of the few movies where I didn’t feel like I was watching Clooney be himself on screen.

      Glad you did a post like this too!

  11. Horay…another one who thinks Clooney is overrated 🙂
    I thought he was okay but to be praised so much…it’s to much. I never see him not as him, let’s just call it he hasn’t awed me yet.
    As for Depp, i quite like him despite all the hate toward him recently.

    I am one of those who doesn’t like Starship troopers…sorry 😉

  12. Happy to see this blogathon was a bright spot on your Monday! 🙂

    There are some musicals I like, but have not seen West Side Story. Plan to check it out eventually, but I’m not in a hurry.

    Out of those ten movies (of which there are a few I have not seen) I suggest watching City of God and Great Dictator as soon as you can, both amazing movies.

    Wow, doing your own double-features…did you find it exciting to do so? Chances getting caught?

    George Clooney does always seem to be smooth and charming, but really don’t mind that. Not a chameleon, but he steadily seems to be putting out quality movies.

    Starship Troopers is a fun movie, Verhoeven knows how to make fun of his own movies with the dark humor. Really want to rewatch that now!

    Still have not watched Righteous Kill, but with those actors in it I still want to check it out.

    What’s the reason you still have not watched the movies you had for such a long time?

    Wow, what’s the reason you don’t watch your movies in the basement? I probably would spend a lot of time in a dedicated room for movie watching! Still plan to have one in the future.

    • It did brighten my Monday, thanks!
      My wife loves West Side Story even though it’s ridiculous, so I guess as far as musicals go it’s a good one?
      I own Great Dictator so I have a good chance of watching that one soon, City of God I’ll have to track down but I’m determined to see it soon.
      Didn’t really think of getting caught, to be honest but I haven’t done it in many years, I would probably worry too much now.
      Clooney doesn’t bother me, I just don’t think he’s as amazing actor (I actually think he’s a better director).
      I haven’t seen Starship Troopers in ages…I could watch it again too!
      Righteous Kill isn’t terrible but it’s kind of a mess.
      The main reason is that I keep buying movies and my backlog just grows and grows. My mood when picking a film to watch is the other main factor.
      After I wrote about not using my basement I decided to rectify that. No use spending all that money if I’m not going to utilize it, right?

      Thanks!

  13. Great post 🙂 Very interesting getting to know a little bit more about you. I do the caption thing too! When I’m watching a movie in English I turn on the captions/subtitles in English. I just had never heard of a native English speaker who did that. And that’s pretty funny about Eyes Wide Shut, hehe.

    I guess I’ll participate in the blogathon as well 🙂

  14. I’ve noticed that a lot of people haven’t seen City of God. I think Adam from 3 Guys 1 Movie hasn’t seen it either.

    HAHA, I love your last confession. I think I did the same thing to Eyes Wide Shut, too. OH and don’t get me started on Munich. I fall sleep within the first 10 minutes…easily. Although, I love quoting Seth Rogen from Knocked Up, “If any of us get laid tonight, it’s because of Eric Bana in “Munich.” Then again, I was saying that in Munich at the time.

    • I’m ashamed at not watching City of God yet because I can’t even count the number of times I’ve picked it up to rent and/or buy and then deciding not to.
      The naughty bits are some of the best parts of Eyes Wide Shut! Maybe if Munich had lots of nudity I would have already watched it (or skipped straight to the nudity).

  15. Can I simply just say what a comfort to uncover an individual who
    truly understands what they are talking about on the internet.
    You definitely understand how to bring a problem to light
    and make it important. More and more people
    must look at this and understand this side of your story. I can’t believe you’re not more
    popular since you surely possess the gift.

Leave a Reply

