My July Movies Round-Up

July was a weird month for me. I really thought that I had been slacking in my movie watching and had been falling behind, but apparently I watched a lot of stuff! I’m definitely on track to reach my goal of watching 300 movies before January 1st but I’ve got to stay focused.

For August, I’ve really been thinking of digging into my personal backlog of purchases. My unwatched (sometimes unopened) Criterion blu-rays alone could keep me occupied for most of the month. We’ll see how that goes, it’s usually easier just to see what’s on Netflix Instant…

July movies watched:

  1. Ted
  2. Jeff, Who Lives At Home
  3. Moonrise Kingdom
  4. Pulp Fiction
  5. Sword of the Stranger
  6. White Wilderness
  7. The Rum Diary
  8. The Battle of Algiers
  9. Cold Sweat
  10. Being John Malkovich
  11. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
  12. A Clockwork Orange
  13. Thief
  14. 400 Blows
  15. Goodfellas
  16. High Fidelity
  17. Batman Begins
  18. North By Northwest
  19. The Dark Knight
  20. The Dark Knight Rises
  21. The Grey
  22. Bridge on the River Kwai
  23. Bottle Rocket
  24. The Only Son
  25. Shadows and Fog
  26. (500) Days of Summer
  27. Jurassic Park III

July Statistics:

Movies watched / Days in the month = 27/31 = ~87.1%
My average movie rating = ~4.148
Average IMDB rating = ~7.7
Average Rotten Tomatoes rating = ~72%
First time viewings = 12

Method of watching:

  • Blu-Ray = 8
  • DVD = 7
  • Netflix (DVD rental) = 2
  • Netflix Instant = 4
  • Theater = 5
  • Hulu Plus = 1

Year to Date Statistics:

Movies watched / Days elapsed = 179/213 = ~84%
Percentage of my goal complete = 179/300 = ~59.7%
Percentage of year complete = 213/366 = ~58.2%
Percentage ahead = ~1.5%
Movies remaining vs. days remaining = 121 vs. 153
My average movie rating = ~3.961
Average IMDB rating = ~7.4
Average Rotten Tomatoes rating = ~76%
First time viewings = 111

Method of watching:

  • Amazon Instant = 1
  • Blu-Ray = 50
  • DVD = 31
  • Netflix (DVD rental) = 20
  • Netflix Instant = 51
  • Theater = 22
  • TV / TiVo = 1
  • Hulu = 3

And there you have it! Turns out I watch almost equal amounts Blu-Ray and Netflix Instant Watch, which isn’t that surprising, I guess. Thanks again for reading! As of today, less than 5 months after starting this site, I’ve hit 15,000 views which is just awesome. Here’s to the next 15k!

12 responses to “My July Movies Round-Up

  1. Keep it up, brother! If we take an average of a movie at 120 minutes * 179 movies, that’s 21,480 minutes of glory!

Leave a Reply

