What’s your most watched movie? (Friday Question Fun)

I’ve been wanting to do regular non-review features for some time now and I figured I would start with something easy to end the week:

What movie have you watched the most?

For me, without question it’s A Christmas Story. Even without watching the 24+ hour marathons that play on Christmas Eve/Day, I’ve watched this movie at least once a season since I was a little kid.

Runner-ups would be Goodfellas, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (the only VHS tape I ever actually wore out) and the original Star Wars trilogy

What about you guys?

149 responses to “What’s your most watched movie? (Friday Question Fun)

  1. Andy,
    When I was 10 years old, I had already seen The Empire Strikes Back 24 times (I still remember who obsessively I would count each viewing). I can’t even tell you at this point how many times I’ve seen it. But it is hands down my most viewed movies…. and one of my all-time favourites.
    Le Clown

  2. I watched Bill and Teds Excellent Adventure so many times in 2004 that I memorized it. Some days, I’d watch it at least 3 times.

  3. This is a great question and a really really hard one to answer, lol. Hmmm…Tale of Two Sisters, Labyrinth, Neverending Story, Nightmare on Elm Street, Alice…there are more but I should probably stop there. 😉

  4. I usually tend not to watch my favorite movies many times because I’m afraid I’ll stop enjoying them. The movie I’ve seen the most is The Mask starring Jim Carrey. I watched that so many times as a kid that by the 15th time I really stopped liking it unfortunately.

  5. I think mine is Point Break. I had that on repeat when I was younger. How i managed not to snap the VHS tape, I’ll never know. If it’s not that (and I believe it is) then it’s probably Pulp Fiction.

    • I’ve actually seen it but I’ve seen it referenced in so many things that I feel like I practically have, lol. Favorite reference has still got to be Hot Fuzz Though

      • Aww man! You must see it. It has it’s moments of cheese but pure entrainment.
        Remind me of the Hot Fuzz reference again? I’m dying here trying to rememeber it. It’s been a while.

    • I am ashamed to admit that I have seen ‘Point Break’ for the first time ever only a couple of days ago, but was I impressed! I thought there were so many kind of twists in there, and overall it was so entertaining! In terms of entertainment I now regard it very near to ‘Face/Off’ or something like that. Cause I enjoyed ‘Point Break’ so much I am going to buy it on DVD now.

      • It’s a top quality action movie and no mistake. I actually wish I could go back an see it again for the first time. It blew me away when I seen all those years ago.

    • I am an F…B…I… AGENT.

      Keanu Reeves wants to prove to the world he is smart enough to spell FBI. I love the movie. It’s cheese-tastic, but, man, Keanu has to be one of the worst actors ever. I think for the most part he’s able to blend into the movie.

      Good stuff, either way.

      • Agreed Bruce. It’s cheesy as he’ll but a great thrill ride all the same. As for Reeves, he has to be one of the worst bankable actors alive today. However, he also seems to have a certain appeal despite lacking in the actor stakes. One film I did really like him in was Sam Raimi’s “The Gift”. He’s surprising really bad ass good!

  6. Lol, at first I was like “this is a tough one” then I realized it wasn’t at all.

    Monty Python and the Holy Grail without a doubt. My Parents were python-heads so I grew up with the movie. To illustrate, at one point my cousin and I turned off the volume and quoted the entire script of the movie as it went by (without subtitles)

    Aside from that it’d be around a tie between Anchorman and Up

  7. It is common knowledge that I have seen Mystery Men over 200 hundred times. I have also watch the original Star Wars trilogy a lot, though the recent changes sort of depress me. I’ve also seen The Mask and Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure quite a few times. Bill and Ted was the first DVD I had, so I watched it once or twice a day for many, many weeks.

  8. It would either have to be Mad Max Beyond Thunderdome or or Return of the Living Dead. I saw both of those a LOT in the theater and then again when they came out on VHS. And then again on DVD and then again on streaming – lol

  9. My Most Watched Flick Is An Easy Answer… 1983’s “KRULL”!!! “KRULL” Is My FAVE FAVE Of ALL-TIME, And I’ve Likely Watched It 400-500 Times! hehehe And NO, I’m Not Joking. Runners-Up Would Be “DR. STRANGELOVE” “STAR TREK II: THE WRATH OF KHAN” and “THE SHINING” 😀
    Great Question, Andy, Fo SHO!!!

  10. No surprise here, for me it’s Evil Dead II. That movie is one of the most re-watchable horror films ever. It’s hilarious, scary, and gory as all hell. Perfect!

  11. ‘The English Patient’ or ‘Fight Club’ . However, as a child I remember watching trillions of times ‘Robin Hood:Prince of Thieves’, so I think that one wins.

  12. When I was around 7 or 8, I bought a DVD box set of Billy WIlder films that included; “Sabrina”, “Stalag 17”, and “Sunset Boulevard”.

    While I watched the first two films quite frequently, I used to watch “Sunset Boulevard” once a week for about 4 years of my life. I’ve probably seen the film well over 200 times and it still remains probably my favorite movie and never looses its intangible “freshness” for me.

    Also, for the last 3 years, I’ve watched David Lynch’s “Mulholland Drive” once a month.

    When I was really young, I had a babysitter that would make us watch the same 3-4 films almost everyday; “Back to the Future”, “Fern Gully”, and the Star Wars trilogy. Needless to say, I dislike all of those films.

    • You were 7 or 8 and interested in Wilder films? Wow
      Great choice with Sunset Boulevard, I could see myself watching that one often too. Mulholland Drive, on the other hand…I don’t know if I could see it that often, even though I really like it.

  13. Good question.

    Movie with the most starts but never finished: “Night of the Generals”. I would put this movie on to help me sleep on those nights I couldn’t fall a sleep on my own.

    As for a movie that I did stay awake for it is probably “Empire Strikes Back” from the time of VHS and “Hero” now.

    Though I own quite a few DVDs and Blu-Rays, I tend to like owning them and not watching them. “Hero” is a film I wasn’t initially impressed with when it first came out, but have grown to love its look.

  14. Great Friday question! Mine is the original Star Wars. Not the whole trilogy, just Star Wars. 30+ views and counting. Mostly on Beta and VHS. Ah, those were the days. The Princess Bride is a close runner-up. I sometimes play it in my head when I’m in a boring meeting…

    • Thanks! I hope to have this much success every Friday

      Princess Bride is one that I used to watch fairly often but haven’t seen the whole thing in years. My wife quotes it a lot, though.

  15. I’d have to agree with you on the Star Wars trilogy, i’m still virtually word perfect on that. Same goes for Wayne’s World, i can watch that over and over again. When i was younger i think i watched Ghostbusters about a hundred times too. All the classics!

  16. I love A Christmas Story. For me it’s a tie between Pretty In Pink and Halloween. I have a Molly Ringwald and 70s/80s horror movie obsession

  17. “Night of the Living Dead”. I had it hooked up on my DVD in my bedroom for a year and used it to lull myself to sleep but instead I kept watching the damn thing night after night. Answer to the obvious: I was too lazy to change the disc.

  18. I had the original Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles memorized, line for line. Also, I had the majority of Pulp Fiction memorized. Of course, I haven’t watched either of those in probably 10 years. More recently, Behind the Mask and The Dark Knight.

  19. I would say that the movie i watch once a year is National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, it’s become a christmas tradition and when watched at christmas is as funny present day as it was back when it was released. I think i would have to say like someone else in these comments that Point Break was my most watched, after the original Star Wars trilogy of course, thank heavens for DVD over VHS which wore out!

    • I love traditional holiday movie watching, it gives me something to look forward to aside from the regular holiday happenings. Lots of love for Point Break here, a bit surprised even though it’s awesome.

  20. The Big Lebowski, The Wedding Singer, Romy and Michelle’s High School Reunion, Poltergeist, and The Beyond. Usually we watch The Beyond with the commentary of the two stars, which makes it into a comedy.

  21. I’ve no idea. Some movies I absolutely love but I don’t watch too often, as to not wear ’em out. Other movies I absolutely love or are just so damn entertaining (mostly action, horror and comedies) I can watch them over and over.

    I’d say probably UNDER SIEGE. Every time it’s on TV I have to stop what I’m doing and watch all of it. Then STARSHIP TROOPERS. Then ALIENS or DIE HARD. Not really sure after that.

    • All solid picks. I’m kind of the same way in that there are movies that I love every second of that I don’t watch very often but when people ask me my favorite movies, I go with ones I watch most often or could watch no matter what mood I’m in.

  22. This is a tough question for me! I actually have several movies I’ve seen multiple times in my life. If forced to absolutely choose just one I guess I would have to say the original Godzilla.

  23. Hey Andy, I’ve nominated you for a blogging award. I’m sure you know how these things go, you’re welcome to accept or not, as I’m sure you also know how long these things take. Best of luck man.

  24. Number 100. Alright, alright, alright. For me, it has to be Dazed and Confused. I saw it on television one Sunday night in June 1997 and I was sent out to find it on VHS the next morning. It took about 5 hours walking around Belfast to track down a copy and when I got home it went straight on. My sister and I watched it every day that summer at least once, and maybe four or five times a year since then. It’s still my number 1 all-time favourite movie.

    • For some reason your comment got flagged as spam by WordPress…Sorry about that!
      Out of all the Rocky movies, I think I’ve seen #4 the most. Haven’t seen Stir Crazy in AGES…Hilarious flick, though.

      • Well I watched A Xmas story yesterday, due to your blog,felt all fuzzy while watching,not seen that movie in over 20yrs,I’m sure I added a gun to my Xmas list the year I first saw it,like a million other kids

  25. I saw “Serenity” seven times at the cinema, and own more iterations of it on home video than I thought possible.

    On the way home from one of those cinema viewings, some dolt drove into the back of our car and even that minor bummer didn’t spoil the film for us.

    A close second – Michael Mann’s “Heat”. A film I never tire of watching.

      • Andy – as a card-carrying Whedonist who met his wife through shared “Buffy The Vampire Slayer” fandom, you had best believe that I saw “Firefly” before “Serenity”.

        Oh, the happy memories of Mrs Rolling Eyeballs crushing my hand that one time in the cinema when the first “Serenity” preview was on screen…

  26. Sorry to be five days late on this one. :/

    I’d say I’ve seen The Simpsons Movie and Gremlins at least eight times each. I haven’t watched either of them for a while, but I still love them and they endure that many rewatches. Next time I watch The Simpsons Movie, I’ll work on getting it down verbatim. I have a few scenes (the Spider-Pig scene, particularly), but as a diehard fan of the series, I’d love to have the whole movie down. 😀

    • I love the Simpsons too! I used to be able to recite whole episodes from the earlier seasons and would reference all sorts of obscure things knowing that I would be the only one in the room to get it.

      • lol That’s me!! I’ll admit they’ve fallen flat recently, but some episodes stand out. For example, “To Surveil with Love” from two or three years ago, where Lisa gets annoyed with the “blonde” stereotypes and Homer causes chaos in the town when he has mercury (I think) slipped in his Duff bag.

  27. Jaws, The Thing, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Goodfellas, The Godfather, Halloween, Psycho and The Empire Strikes Back.

  28. For me I find myself watching good light comedies over and over again if they are really funny because nothing helps you escape ugly realities of daily life better than a good comedy. The top 5 that come to mind are ‘What’s Up Doc’ with Barbara Streisand. ‘Network’, ‘Silver Streak’ with Gene Wilder and Richard Pryor and ‘Nine to Five’.

  29. I watch that exact same 24 hours Christmas Story. It’s not christmas until I that movie. Since you picked that one…I’m going to have to pick something else. Well, I noticed that I love watch Fast and Furious Tokyo Drift. Well, any Fast and Furious movie, really. Hey, you didn’t say it had to be a super good movie. LOL Every time it’s on TV, no matter what, i always watch it. I even have the DVDs. It’s really sad, but true.

    • It’s not Christmas until you’ve seen that movie 4-10 times before midnight hits. I really don’t know why I watch it back-to-back-to-back every time it’s on, it’s just like an addiction.
      Nothing wrong with liking Fast and Furious!

      • Haha it’s kind of an embarrassing answer, I guess, but here goes. I love Disney movies and I always have. However, I was a fat kid, and I could never really identify with the leading men in the movies. They were always strong, ruggedly handsome, and all around studs, and that just wasn’t me. But then this movie came along and the main character was different. He wasn’t good looking – in fact he looked nothing like Aladdin or Prince Charming or Tarzan. He was an outcast, and finally was someone I could identify with.

        Also, I really love the music. It has the most beautifully romantic and haunting score and songs. I tried to pick just one song that I love, but as I sit here and think about them, they are all great: “Out There,” “The Bells of Notre Dame” “Heaven’s Light/Hellfire” and “God Bless the Outcasts.” All fantastic. And I grew up catholic, so I really liked the religious tones in the film.

        It really is a beautiful movie with a really awesome message – you should check it out if you haven’t seen it.

  30. Pingback: What’s the last movie that made you cry? (Friday Question Fun) | Andy Watches Movies

  31. When I was 6-7 I watched the original Star Wars 52 time straight in the theater–I don’t envy parents who started bringing books and other things to do while my brother and I watch the film.

Leave a Reply

