Cinemaniac Reviews – Movie Questionnaire

Time to participate in another blogathon! This time around, the host is Alexander aka Cinemaniac over at Cinemaniac Reviews. More details can be found here.

So let’s get started!

  1. What’s your favorite movie?
    Goodfellas
  2. Least favorite movie?
    I don’t know if I could pick one since I generally don’t finish movies I don’t like. I did get all the way through Slugs, and that was pretty awful…
  3. Name one movie you loved upon initial viewing but eventually grew to hate (or vice-versa).
    It’s been awhile, but I never cared much for Old School and when I was in high school it seemed like we would end up watching all or some of it every. Single. Weekend. I thought it was fine the first time, didn’t love it, but eventually I couldn’t stand it.
  4. Name your biggest “guilty pleasure” film.
    C.H.U.D. – though I’m really not that guilty about it
  5. Favorite quote from a favorite actor/actress (must be a line from a movie)?
    “You’re gonna need a bigger boat.” – Martin Brody, Jaws
  6. Favorite quote from a favorite actor/actress (must NOT be a line from a movie)?
    I honestly don’t think I have one
  7. Three favorite movie scenes?
    Copa scene – Goodfellas
    Danny’s big wheel ride – The Shining
    Car chase – Bullitt
  8. Four films that should NOT have won Best Picture?
    Dances with Wolves (1990 – should have been Goodfellas)
    Rocky (1976 – should have been either Network or Taxi Driver)
    My Fair Lady (1965 – should have been Dr. Strangelove)
    How Green Was My Valley (1941 – should have been Citizen Kane)
  9. Top five of the year (currently)?
    Moonrise Kingdom
    Beasts of the Southern Wild
    The Dark Knight Rises
    Cabin in the Woods
    Prometheus
  10. Bottom three of the year (currently)?
    Haven’t really seen anything too terrible, but Hunger Games was my most disappointing, I think.
  11. What film gets your vote for the worst or most pointless remake?
    I haven’t seen it yet, but The Amazing Spider-Man is definitely up there on principle alone. Psycho is always going to be high on that list as well.
  12. Is there any film you think is actually desperate for a remake?
    There are a bevy of older, fantastic films that I think could stand a new audience or even being brought into the current times but for every remake of a silent movie I see, they are usually terrible. I don’t think remakes are inherently bad, but I also don’t see much of a case for disturbing the originals.
  13. Name your three favorite film heroes.
    Han Solo – Star Wars trilogy
    Paul Kersey – Charles Bronson’s character in the Death Wish movies
    Batman – various, but Christian Bale is my favorite
  14. Name your three favorite film villains.
    “Bruce” the shark – Jaws
    Jack Torrence – Jack Nicholson from The Shining
    The Joker – Heath Ledger in The Dark Knight
  15. Best sequel?
    The Empire Strikes Back and unless some freak miracle happens, this answer will never change for me.
  16. Worst sequel?
    Hey, remember that Blair Witch Project sequel, Book of Shadows? Well, you should try to forget it. Not that the original was that great or anything…
  17. Best trilogy?
    I’m not sure I could live with myself if I said anything other than the original Star Wars trilogy.
  18. Worst trilogy?
    Did you know they made three (count ’em) live-action Alvin and the Chipmunk movies? *shudder*
  19. What’s your favorite word to use in a movie review (if your film blog does not feature reviews, substitute “review” with “-related post”?)
    I’m actually not sure if I say it that often in my own reviews, but I’m a big fan of the word “turd”.
  20. Anything else?
    Curly fries are better than regular fries.
25 responses to “Cinemaniac Reviews – Movie Questionnaire

  1. Slugs, the worst movie? Blasphemy. We had a blast watching that film. The fact that it nearly put us both to sleep towards the end is, well, irrelevant. Those were good times!

  2. I find it interesting that one of your favorite villains is played by Jack Nicholson while another is the non-Nicholson Joker.

    If only Artisan Entertainment had let Dan Myrick and Ed Sanchez do the “Blair Witch” sequel they wanted to do, they may have ended up with a hit franchise rather than what they ended up with–bankruptcy.

    • I’ve never been a huge fan of Nicholson’s Joker, actually.
      The main problem with the Blair Witch sequel is that they don’t follow the same formula found-footage formula (some may say that’s a plus, I guess) and that it kills some of the allure and mystery of the original.

      • The sequel was a terrible, terrible movie. I know the filmmakers of the original and know what their intention was, and it was disheartening to know how the studio screwed them over (of course, after they all became millionaires). At least they’re making new movies again.

  3. I have to say that I believe Dances with Wolves is better than Goodfellas, fella! And Rocky is better than Taxi Driver. Hmmm . . .maybe Rocky and Taxi Driver sahould have been the same movie . . .”Yo, Adrian . . .you talkin’ to me?” I could so see Stallone or DeNiro saying that line then funkin’ shiznit up!

  4. I’ve been doing a lot of commenting on people who participate in this blogathon, so if it’s all right, I’ll respond to select answers only:

    5. Love that quote.
    6. It’s not really asking for you to have one off the top of your head (though if possible, that’s great), but usually it just requires a Google search: “[name of favorite actor/actress] + quotes”
    8. Couldn’t you just say that Dances with Wolves shouldn’t have won BP and any other nominee (save for The Godfather Part III, of course) should have? Lol.
    9. This is one of the only posts I’ve read that DOESN’T include The Avengers. A relieved smile lights up across my face every time I read one.
    10. “but Hunger games was my most disappointing, I think.” I’m confused by your four-out-of-five grade now…
    11. Psycho outdoes The Amazing Spider-Man too far. Just add color and a sex scene to warrant another R rating and for Gus Van Sant to claim it his own work; otherwise, it’s no different than Hitchcock’s version. By definition, it’s pointless.
    13. Interesting that you choose Han Solo as a hero. If one of my questions had been “Three favorite antiheroes?”, would he have been placed there? It’s a unique choice, but I personally view him as an antihero. He’s definitely an advocate for justice, but he’s also opposed to and entirely skeptical of the Force.
    14. I’d like to see Heath NOT get mentioned! LOL.
    15. You want a freak miracle? See Troll 2 and your life will change. Of course, I’m kidding.
    18. Haha!!!
    20. Yeah I agree.

    • 6 – I did do a quick Google search and still didn’t find anything. I know they are out there, and I even know that Charles Bronson said something awesome but I couldn’t find it in 5 minutes and moved on 😦
      9 – Avengers was fun but I could live my life without ever seeing it again
      10 – I still think the movie is a 4/5 but I wanted a lot more out of the film. I guess the same could be said for Prometheus too, but for Hunger Games I had the book to compare it to.
      11 – Very true
      13 – Hmm…Possibly. I think Han is more of a reluctant hero though, since his motivations change throughout the trilogy but you make a fair point.
      14 – I REALLY was trying not to have him on the list but I couldn’t do it.

  5. Completely agree that Dances With Wolves shouldn’t have won (GoodFellas is far superior) as well as Rocky, which I find to be hugely overrated. It doesn’t even belong in the same league as Taxi Driver, Network, or All the President’s Men. Same said about My Fair Lady and How Green Was My Valley. I’ve never seen the Psycho remake out of the general hatred it gets, and I don’t plan on doing so.

Leave a Reply

