Updates and blogathon announcement

So, you may remember that Justin from Today I Watched A Movie were in a competition for page views and I won! I had my best month ever and made it past 5,000 views for the month so I’m totally stoked. Thanks everyone that has visited and if you’ve visited more than once I may be in love with you. For his defeat, Justin has to watch a turd of a movie of my choosing, so stay tuned to his site for that and/or follow us both on Twitter (@watchesmovies and @todayiwatched) for our hijinx.

The other piece of news I wanted to share is that I’ve officially passed the 200 movie mark, I still have two more reviews to write, but that means I’ve got only 100 movies left for my goal in 2012. I think I can safely hit the 300 mark, so we’ll see how far I can go!

Lastly, a bit of a teaser for a blogathon that Misty from Cinema Scminema and I will be hosting sometime in the next month or so. The theme for the blogathon, you may be wondering? Nostalgia.

So, yesterday, I asked “what movie defines your childhood?” and that was leading people into thinking about things that would make them nostalgic. We all have movies from growing up that we love; The Goonies, Star Wars, Ghostbusters, Ferris Bueller, Karate Kid, etc. These movies are movies that many of us grew up watching and likely still have great memories of the movies as kids as well as adults. We want to focus on that nostalgic factor to films, but also films from your childhood that may not have been super popular or that you had a weird attachment to as a kid.

More details of Nostalgiathon will be forthcoming, so stay tuned, but start brainstorming now.

62 responses to “Updates and blogathon announcement

  1. Great job on the views! Nostaligathon is a great word lol. Look forward to it. And psh, 200 is nothing. You can do 350! Go for it.

  2. BUT IDEA! You two did a little contest last month… how about we all do something together this month? Doesn’t need to be a contest or anything. Maybe just a recurring theme or something. We all have very similar “goals” for our blogs, so why not?

  3. By the way, my reviews got over 45,000 views for last month. In the last 3 days I got over 5,000. I see nothing wrong with either of your reviews, so come on now!

  4. Congratulations on the win, hope you are not too harsh in the movies you pick πŸ˜‰

    Nice going on the amount of movies you’ve seen. I’m currently at 212 movies (saw 6 this weekend (helps if the wife and kids are away for the weekend ;))

  5. Pingback: My August Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

