The Man Who Fell to Earth (9/13/12)

The Man Who Fell to EarthMovie Two Hundred Eleven

The Man Who Fell to Earth is about an alien that travels here to transport water back to his dying planet.

Thomas Newton (David Bowie) is an alien that travels to Earth for water after a drought has ravaged his home planet. Since Newton looks just like a human, he blends in perfectly to society, and uses his advanced technology to file numerous patents and become extremely rich. With his amassed wealth, Newton needs a space to build a spaceship to transport water back to his home planet. He meets a young girl named Mary Lou (Candy Clark) and she teaches him Earth customs.

I would normally give a slightly longer synopsis of the film, but that’s about all I could surely surmise from The Man Who Fell to Earth. Calling the movie “trippy” is almost an understatement since at times I found it totally incoherent. Even at its most esoteric, I never found The Man Who Fell to Earth painful to watch, but it has more than a few moments that had me saying “wtf?”.

Since this was David Bowie’s big screen debut, it’s worth noting that his performance as a slightly robotic alien is fairly unsurprising. Oh, and in case you ever wanted to see naked David Bowie, this is your movie. Even though I barely had a grasp of the plot, I think a lot of The Man Who Fell to Earth actually has more to it. I would normally say it would be worth watching again to try to discern more of what was going on, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever be up for that.

The Man Who Fell Earth is not a bad movie, there is still a lot to like, especially given the cult status the film has achieved since its release. I have seen many many movies in my time, and The Man Who Fell to Earth is something unique, albeit very strange.

I give it 3 David Bowie taking out his contacts out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

23 responses to “The Man Who Fell to Earth (9/13/12)

    • Even though it had me scratching my head for most of it, I’d be lying if I said there was something that kept my attention while watching it. My review doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it but I struggled keeping up with it, I guess.

  1. If you want to see a really great movie David Bowie was involved with you should The Hunger. It’s a trippy vampire movie with Susan Sarandon and Catherine Deneuve.

    Nice review.

  2. Andy,
    I am a gigantic Bowie fan, but I have to agree with this review. I think most of Bowie’s movies are middle of the road affair, even the cult-like ones like The Hunger, with the exception of Labyrinth.
    Le Clown

  3. Pingback: My September Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

