Life of Pi Preview

Life of Pi is opening tomorrow and it is sitting pretty at Rotten Tomatoes with an 84% “fresh” rating. Originally published as a novel, Life of Pi is about young boy that survives a shipwreck along with a Bengal tiger. Here is the official synopsis:

LIFE OF PI
Genre:Adventure-Drama in 3D
Release:November 21, 2012
Director:Ang Lee
Screenplay by: David Magee, based upon the novel by Yann Martel
Producers: Gil Netter, Ang Lee, David Womark
Cast:Suraj Sharma, Irrfan Khan, Tabu, Rafe Spall and Gérard Depardieu
With LIFE OF PI, director Ang Lee (“Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon”) creates a groundbreakingmovie event about a young man who survives a disaster at sea and is hurtled into an epicjourney of adventure and discovery. While cast away, he forms an amazing and unexpectedconnection with another survivor…a fearsome Bengal tiger.

While I never finished reading the novel, I still keep it on my shelf in hopes of making my way through it. I plan on seeing the film and I hope that it sparks my interest in the source material.

I’ve been offered to show off some off some of my favorite official pictures from Life of Pi, click on them for full size – and don’t forget to watch the trailer!

Behind the scenes:

  

 

Ang Lee on the set:

  

Movie stills:

  
  
  

*note* this is sponsored post, but the opinions held within are my own

32 responses to “Life of Pi Preview

    • since i read the book, i can tell you that you really should read the book first because – well – i can’t say or i’ll give something away. but if the movie is not made well, and if things are confusing because they had to leave stuff out, then you likely won’t ever read the book.

      • Gotcha. Thanks for the heads up! 🙂 I tend to go with book first because books are my first love in life but I’ve also heard the book itself was a bit confusing or maybe just convoluted (I’ve had friends who had trouble making it through the whole thing) so it got pushed down my list in favor of other books. So now it is going to be moved back up.

  1. I’m curious about this one. I really enjoyed the book, but did wonder how they could make a movie of it when it was announced.

    Early reviews are in and it seems to be doing well. Since Cameron is raving about the 3D work I will be watching it with the goggles on.

  2. This not a film to watch on TV. Like Hugo or Avatar it really begs to be seen on the big screen. Aside from the stunning visuals, it’s an absolutely gorgeous rumination on faith and spirituality.

  3. Pingback: Life of Pi (11/25/12) | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

