Mallrats (11/10/12) – Nostalgiathon

MallratsNostalgiathon 2012 badge

Movie Two Hundred Fifty Seven

In Mallrats, after being dumped by both of their girlfriends, two friends head to the mall.

TS Quint (Jeremy London) and his girlfriend, Brandi Svenning (Claire Forlani) are about to head to Universal Studios where TS plans to propose when Jaws pops out of the water. Instead, Brandi has agreed to be on her father’s game show, “Truth or Date”, and breaks up with TS. Meanwhile, Brodie (Jason Lee) gets dumped by his girlfriend, Rene (Shannen Doherty) for being too juvenile. The two friends meet up and Brodie decides they should go to the mall for solace. At the mall, they discover that “Truth or Date” will be filming there later and they ask Jay (Jason Mewes) and Silent Bob (Kevin Smith) to ruin the stage in an effort to win Brandi back.

Throughout my freshman and sophomore years of high school, Mallrats was practically on a repeating loop so I have decided it was perfect to cover for Nostalgiathon. The dialogue was reenacted countless times and entire scenes could be staged at the drop of a hat. Mallrats had everything a teenager could ask for – comedy, action, romance, magic-eye posters, sex, comic books, NHL All Star Hockey, etc. Mallrats not only delivers on all those fronts but everything Jason Lee says in the film is pretty much Oscar-worthy… OK maybe that’s going too far.

In high school I was only on the cusp of being a movie nerd but I did notice some Mallrats deficiencies. Even though nearly every line feels like it was written down and spoken, if that makes sense. Kevin Smith is a talented writer and comes up with great dialogue, but in Mallrats, it feels very scripted. Also, Jeremy London bugs the hell out of me, he always has. Even though Smith is lauded as a great director, his work lately has not been so hot and I think he has a talent, but his direction in Mallrats is nothing spectacular. Still, Smith knows his audience for Mallrats and delivers on all the dick jokes you could want.

Mallrats is easily my favorite Kevin Smith movie and it probably always will be. It hasn’t aged particularly well, it has a very mid-90s vibe to it. Plus, who remembers chubby Ben Affleck these days? I likely won’t be watching Mallrats again anytime soon, but it was nice to be able to watch it and still be able to mime the dialogue in my head as the movie played out.

I give it 4 “it’s not a schooner, it’s a sailboat”s out of 5.

If you’d like to participate in Nostalgiathon, feel free! More details can be found here.

Linkss:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

35 responses to “Mallrats (11/10/12) – Nostalgiathon

  1. Pingback: Nostalgiathon Blogathon – Introduction | Andy Watches Movies

  2. Pingback: Nostalgiathon – Update 1 | Andy Watches Movies

  3. A long time ago (in a galaxy…), Morristown Headquarters Plaza hosted special screenings of movies introduced by someone intimately connected with the film. My parents belonged to whatever film club started this thing, and Kevin Smith ended up introducing Clerks there. I distinctly remember my step-father coming home from it saying “It was really good! The language was foul, but it was REALLY GOOD.” Love Clerks, like the majority of his other work, but to be honest, I think I love Kevin Smith the person more than anything else. Saw him do a Q&A last year that was awesome, and he always comes across as just a genuine guy, so I support whatever project he’s up to. Mallrats was just fun 🙂

    • That’s awesome! I know what you mean about liking him as a person more than anything else, and I think now that is especially true since his movies have been spotty. I’ll still always have Mallrats to look kindly upon, though haha

  4. I love that we both did Nostalgiathon entries today and each of our entries features a London brother! I’m a fan of Mallrats (although I think Dogma is probably my favorite of his). I enjoy it for the pure fun and silliness. His more recent stuff has been a bit of a downer (Red State was a wonderful film but it was totally marketed wrong).

  5. I have quite a few favorite lines and scenes throughout this movie. My favorite scene is Jay and Silent Bob beating up the Easter Bunny and then the kids end up ganging up on Jay and Silent Bob.

  6. A great look at a vintage Kevin Smith film. It is very easy to see that Mallrats was at the start of his directorial journey and it is my least favourite of the Jay and Silent Bob verse. The best thing about the film and it’s (spiritual) sequel Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back, is that Ben Afflick is not afraid to laugh at himself. Good one mate! 😀

  7. This was my first Kevin Smith movie and I loved it. Although it didn’t get the same acclaim as Clerks, it was still funny and true! I used to work at a mall, I swear, we had the exact same characters in the mall. Except my mall had a guy who looked EXACTLY like Elvis. No joke. We would even call him Elvis. Maybe it was him. Who knows.

  8. I think it’s interesting that even though it bombed when it came out, for most fans of Jay and Silent Bob, Mallrats is their favorite movie. And right now I think it’s in a weird point of being ahead of its time, but also dated. Now he just needs to get a move on and get Hit Somebody made.

  9. Do you really think that ‘Mallrats’ is better than ‘Clerks’? I think that the latter is, absolutely, positively, Kevin Smith’s best film. Love it! Of course, the two flicks are interlinked and that’s part of the beauty of the work. I rewatched ‘Mallrats’ recently. I’ve always had a love hate relationship with it and I don’t know why. This time when I watched it, I just really, really enjoyed it! 🙂 But I just think ‘Clerks’ is incredibly witty, in both senses of the word. 🙂 Shame the second one was in colour…

    A great film to review, Andy. Here’s a question for you: ‘Jersey Girl’ aside (lol), which KS film did you think is his poorest? I guess that should be a Jay and Silent Bob film… 🙂

    Here’s a blog you might appreciate. What a great post, eh? 🙂
    http://losjuevos.wordpress.com/2012/11/16/jay-and-silent-bob/

  10. I saw Mallrats before Clerks and fell in love with it. But I feel that Clerks is better overall due to it being Smith’s first film and it shows that he poured his heart and soul into it. He funded the whole thing himself and jumped through a lot of hoops to get the film made.

    Mallrats, on the other hand was his first attempt at releasing a professional film, which was released through Gramercy Pictures. And as you watch it you can tell that it wasn’t written over a long period of time and seems a little rushed.

    All in all both films are great in their own way.

    • It does seem a bit rushed in spots, I think the scenes where he didn’t have anything really funny happening were just kind of pounded out since they probably weren’t as fun to film.

      Totally agreed that it and Clerks and unique, but great, in their own ways

  11. Great review. I love the hell outta this movie. Clerks is clearly better but, in some ways, I found parts of this movie just funnier than anything in Clerks.

    I practically wore out the copy at the video store I worked at in the 90s, and my own copy. I believe it was my 2nd DVD purchase, as well. (The first was Fight Club) I remember loving all the special features, because its basically everyone involved in the movie chatting about why *they* think the movie didn’t work. I always thought that was pretty gutsy/classy on their part.

    If I had to pick a drawback of the movie for me, though, it’s that I find myself always taking Merle (on The Walking Dead) just a little less seriously than they want me too. Rooker’s fantastic, and draws you in on the show… but once you’ve seen him lick that chocolate, I can’t have your attention drawn to his (lack of a) hand and not think about it.

  12. For some reason Kevin Smith films do not age well, and I also think he is his own worse enemy. I sometimes feel Kevin Smith the director doesn’t allow Kevin Smith the screenwriter shine.

    I remember watching “Dogma” when it first came out and enjoying it, and watching it a few more times in college. WIthin the last two years I watched it again and wondered what I was smoking to like it so much originally.

    This tends to be my standard Kevin Smith reaction these days.

  13. Mallrats was my first exposure to Kevin Smith films; certainly fun enough for me to check out the rest, but I didn’t think it was anything special at the time. Still, I remember it being pretty popular in school. I’ve still got a few of Smith’s “Jay and Silent Bob” films to check out, but so far I think Clerks is the best of them.

    Good review, Andy. Glad you were still able to like it, even if the shine has worn off a bit.

  14. Pingback: My November Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

  15. Pingback: Nostalgiathon – Update 2 | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

