Five Movies We Would Love To See In Theaters Again (Guest Post)

Sometimes the best movie isn’t next week’s new release but a revisited classic that just can’t be contained in a Blu-ray or Netflix presentation. We aren’t talking remakes here, either. Some films were just designed for the silver screen and here are the top five we’d love to buy a ticket to see on today’s giant screens.

“Metropolis”
“Metropolis” is a German  expressionist sci-fi film from the 1920s that tells the story of a dystopian society 100 years in the future, where wealthy intellectuals rule from high office towers, while the downtrodden masses writhe away in the bellows of the urban landscape. The visual artistry of the film deserves the big screen treatment and, even though modern soundtracks have been created featuring the likes of rock legend Freddie Mercury and ’80s icon Adam Ant, what would really bring the experience to life would be the accompaniment of a full, live orchestra. This would be the kind of event that people could dress to the nines for and relive a little of that old Hollywood glamour, while paying tribute to one of the most intelligent films to ever grace us with its presence.

“Gone With the Wind”
I want to see the glory of Tara on the silver screen. The sweeping dresses and landscapes, Atlanta burning, the now-quaint, game-changing cursing of Rhett Butler – what could be more suited to a theatrical re-release? And the grand costumes that could be worn in homage to the era would make quite the red carpet splash for all those southern belle wannabes who’ve just been itching for the chance to don a hoop skirt.

“Star Wars”
Forget extended scenes or prequels – it’s the original 1977 “Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope” that deserves another engagement at a theater near you. This is a movie that defined a generation of would-be explorers, astronauts, rebel leaders and super-geeks. Not only was the film groundbreaking for its special effects, but it introduced the space opera genre and changed the face of not only science fiction but modern hero mythology as well. Throwing this flick back up on the big screen would be perfectly timed with the Disney buyout of Lucasfilms and could help prompt excitement of what is coming next for the franchise.

“Moulin Rouge”
Baz Luhrmann knows how to make eye-candy. That’s why this rich carnival of sequined sights and exuberant sounds deserves another trip to the big screen. Imagine every sparkle and spangle in HD and each warble from the lovely throat of Ewan McGregor or Nicole Kidman in Dolby Digital Surround Sound – doesn’t the thought alone make your heart swoon? There’s no way even the most well-placed flat screen TV above the mantel can do justice to this cinematic gem that deserves its due in a full-fledged theater. Actual velvet theater seats would be the cherry on top.

“Casablanca”
Sam should definitely play it (again), and on the biggest screen with the most amazing digital re-mastering available. Nothing could be more painfully beautiful than the face of Ingrid Bergman floating above us on a beautiful screen as she’s forced to fly away from the love of her life – the incomparable Humphrey Bogart. This classic film from the golden age of Hollywood doesn’t require flashy special effects or the latest in sound innovation to keep viewers rapt with its tale of star-crossed lovers who, like Romeo and Juliet, must ultimately say goodbye. But that doesn’t mean a theatrical re-release wouldn’t be one of the most wonderful things Santa could bring us for Christmas this year.
[Ed. note – I actually got a chance to see Casablanca on the big screen, you can read my review here]

What film would you like to see come back to the theater?

Lisa@SatelliteTV.com

About the Author:  Lisa has been writing for Satellitetv.com about film and TV related topics for over a year now.  She loves that she can incorporate things she loves with her work.

Please contact Lisa at Lisa@SatelliteTV.com

16 responses to “Five Movies We Would Love To See In Theaters Again (Guest Post)

  1. Great list! Some very cool films. I’d love to see Jaws, The Empire Strikes Back and Raiders of the Lost Ark again on the big screen. I just watched Die Hard recently at The Dryden Theater here in Rochester and it looked great. Thanks for the post!

  2. With the exception of Luhrmann’s Moulin Rouge, great list. I’ve never been able to “get on” with Moulin Rouge despite the heavy hitting cast, I adore Jim Broadbent. Still I agree with your sentiment. I’d love to see The Wild Bunch on big screen again along with The Searchers, Casablanca (great choice!) and The Treasure of the Sierra Madre. I am sure if I thought about it, I could name some more! 😀

    • It might just be the hopeless romantic in me that would love to see Moulin Rouge again :). Thanks for the comment Mike!

  3. I agree with all of the picks except Moulin Rouge. I’d love to see Apocalypse Now on the big screen and I’m planning to see Pulp Fiction come back into theaters this Thursday.

  4. Hell yeah! I’m down for Moulin Rouge in theatres! Great choices!

    I just saw Footloose (1984) and fell in love with it so I’d like to see that re-appear in theatres. Along with a bunch of Indiana Jones movies. It may have aired originally as a TV movie but I’d love to see Duel put on the big screen.

  5. I haven’t seen Metropolis and Moulin Rouge. I know, right…a girl not seeing Moulin Rouge is kinda rare. I already got blasted (well not blasted per say) for not watching Anchorman on Fog’s site. I must watch that movie first before doing anything else. LOL Then after that, I’ll tackle Metropolis and MR.

  6. Would love to see Casablanca on the big screen. A couple more that come to mind are The Wizard of Oz and Rocky. But I’m sure once I hit “Post Comment” more will come to mind!

  7. Totally agree with Metropolis and Moulin Rouge! (Well, I agree with all of them but those two I would pay money to see in the theatre). As for others…Evil Dead…Indiana Jones (any of the original)…I’m sure there’s tons more but I am unable to think right now, lol.

  8. I would say classics would be best – old Bogart movies or movies from the seventies and eighties that I saw, but was so young I didn’t register with them like I would as an adult, such as Star Wars.

  9. I cannot agree with you more about including “Star Wars.” It’s just so fun to watch on television or Netflix and I can imagine that sentiment of pure joy being amplified on the big screen. The same with “Metropolis.” I revisited that again recently and–wow!

    I’d like to see John Carpenter’s “Halloween” in theaters. That theme song in a very dark theater will sure put me in the mood to be scared (even though I’ll know what’s coming).

Leave a Reply

