The People Vs. George Lucas (11/28/12)

The People Vs. George LucasMovie two Hundred Seventy Four

The People Vs. George Lucas covers the intense feelings towards George Lucas over the years.

This documentary, loosely in the form of a courtroom debate, gives both sides of the debate about George Lucas’s recent changes to the  beloved Star Wars and Indiana Jones franchises. Many die-hard Star Wars fans abhor the changes made to the original trilogy and also the newer prequel trilogy, but some fans argue that Lucas has artistic license to make these changes. The film also gives a brief biography of Lucas himself and the release of Star Wars.

I am a huge Star Wars fan, my basement is littered with memorabilia and I’m not ashamed of it. Since I grew up with Star Wars, many assume I hate the prequel trilogy which isn’t true. Yes, they are disappointing films and pale in comparison to the original trilogy in my mind, but I’m not going to get worked up about it. Same goes for the changes made to the original trilogy over the years. Do the changes ruin the film? Not for me. However, at its core, what The People Vs. George Lucas is really asking for is the release of the remastered original trilogy in their theatrical forms and this is a viewpoint I share.

The People Vs. George Lucas is fairly interesting, as a Star Wars and Indiana Jones fan, but for non-fans I’m not sure it would be much more than “wow, look at those nerds get so angry about nothing”. Well, even I was kind of thinking how I was glad I wasn’t at that level of nerdiness that I would throw a tantrum just talking about George Lucas. The back-and-forth between differing viewpoints in The People Vs. George Lucas is interesting and works really well given the largely strong contrast between opinions but the entire thing goes on slightly too long and the filmmakers opinions start to become evident through what is portrayed.

The only people I would recommend The People Vs. George Lucas to are fellow Star Wars nerds. The downside is that we all have our own opinions and the film does nothing to persuade, only presents the opinions on both sides. It’s interesting, for sure, but it’s probably a limited interest group that would care to watch The People Vs. George Lucas.

I give it 3 HAN SHOT FIRSTs out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

 

12 responses to “The People Vs. George Lucas (11/28/12)

  1. Pingback: My November Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

  2. I thought it was a fairly well balanced doco. The extended extras interview with producer Gary Kurtz is also well worth checking out (he was the only one who kept Lucas reined in – which is why the original first two films have integrity – whereas the rest do not). With a bit of luck Disney will remaster the original cuts and release them. Nice review, Andy! 🙂

    • Hm, I don’t think I saw that since I watched it on Netflix Instant…

      I’m hoping Disney does the franchise right, I don’t care if they pump out a bunch of movies and merchandise everything about them as long as they are unique and somewhat good. An average Star Wars film is still a Star Wars film.

  3. Nice work, Andy.

    I’ve been meaning to watch this for awhile. ‘Star Wars’ kick-started my imagination as I’m sure it did with many others. What Lucas can’t seem to grasp is that it’s the original versions responsible for this, not the rejigged ones. I thought it was insulting when he stuck the original trilogy on one of his DVD re-releases as an ‘extra’ without even cleaning up the print or punching up the audio. I hope Disney do the business, but I’m not holding my breath…

    • One of the comments in the film is that even if they re-released the original theatrical films in a 495 disc box set it would be worth it…I’m not sure I’d go quite that far, but I wouldn’t mind paying a bit more for them.

      I think Disney will do the right thing.

Leave a Reply

