The Mummy [1999] (12/11/12)

The Mummy [1999]Movie Two Hundred Seventy Seven

When an archaeological team find a lost ancient city they awaken an ancient curse of the The Mummy.

In ancient Egypt, in the city of Hamunaptra, high priest Imhotep (Arnold Vosloo) is involved in an affair with the Pharoah’s mistress, Anck Su Namun (Patricia Velasquez). After Anck Su Namun kills herself, Imhotep tries resurrecting her soul, but is caught by the Pharoah’s guards and mummified alive and cursed. Flash forward to the 1920s, Evelyn “Evy” Carnahan (Rachel Weisz), an Egyptologist, is presented with an unusual box by her brother, Jon (John Hannah) that contains a map to Hamunaptra inside. Jon confesses that he actually stole the item from Rick O’Connell (Brandan Fraser), who is about to be hanged. Evy and Jon save Rick and the three decide to try to find Hamunaptra only to discover a rival set of adventurers are looking for the same treasure and in their search, the two teams awaken Imhotep.

I was a bit cautious tackling The Mummy again, but after being in Universal Studios, my wife and I discovered a great ride there based on The Mummy movies. While The Mummy has not aged flawlessly, it still holds up quite well and is still my preferred version over the 1930s film starring Boris Karloff. While the special effects were, at the time, bleeding edge, The Mummy has some CGI effects that don’t quite look dated but are close to it. Still, for a blockbuster summer adventure movie, The Mummy holds its own in most regards.

There are undoubtedly some horror aspects to The Mummy but it is by and large an adventure film meant for a wide audience. There are lots of gags and one-liners that lighten the mood but most characters get at least one chance for either some slapstick or comedy routine and after awhile it started to grate on me a bit. Or maybe Branden Fraser just kind of bugs me, I’m not sure. With the rumblings of yet another Mummy movie coming soon, I hope they shift the focus to more horror/action-adventure and leave some of the lighter aspects out. It may drastically darken up the film but after enduring attempted joke after joke, some even with pauses for laughter it seems, I’m up for a dark version of The Mummy.

I can’t speak much to the sequels and spin-offs, but I’ve always been fond of The Mummy. It’s probably not going to make it on any of my ‘favorites’ lists but it’s a fine, solid film that I certainly wouldn’t mind watching every few years or so.

I give it 3 the most shocking thing is how different Rachel Weisz looks out of 5.

PS – If you get a chance, check out the ride for The Mummy at Universal Studios (in Florida, not sure about California), it’s pretty amazing.

PPS – I would have sworn Billy Zane played Imhotep…

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

27 responses to “The Mummy [1999] (12/11/12)

  1. I used to watch this on cable a lot when I was a teen. Hahaha. It’s great!! It put Rachel Weisz on my radar.

    “The Mummy” ride in California is great, too! I love how it goes backwards at one point. First time I rode that, I thought there was something wrong with the ride.

    • So the ride is probably the same then. When we went on it we literally had no idea what to expect and we certainly were not thinking it was a roller coaster. When it went backwards we both started screaming. Then we went on it like 3 more times. Awesome ride.

  2. You and I see eye to eye on this. I know The Mummy isn’t a good movie persay, but for what it is I do find it entertaining.

    As for the sequels; I thought the second was okay, but the third was pretty awful.

  3. Cranking them out! You’re going to make it to 300, I believe in you 🙂 Also, agreement on the Rachel Weisz being amazing. Maria Bello will never compate

  4. It’s a dumb action movie but it knows it’s a dumb action movie. I really enjoyed watching it, despite the obvious flaws. Nice review.

    Also, I’ve been on the ride in Florida and it is pretty cool.

  5. Don’t know where I stand with ‘The Mummy’. Thought it was entertaining, first time. When I tried to watch it a second time a few years later I just wished I was watching another film. Not long ago I caught part of ‘The Mummy’ on telly and I was thinking, ‘yeh, good film, this…’ Then after about 10 minutes I was like, ‘Nah, had enough of that…’ Odd reaction, admittedly. And Hannah irks me.

    Rachel Weisz makes things better.

    • Hannah irks me too and that’s kind of the reaction I was having while watching it this time around. I kept wanting them to get back to the action and then they’d have some stupid gag and I’d roll my eyes.

  6. I agree, hands down the best ride in Universal. I don’t know how they do it, but it seems like a much longer ride than it really is.

    I don’t know why, but any time The Mummy is on USA (I always feel like it’s always on the USA or SYFY channel), my sister has to watch it. Even though we have the DVD. I don’t really have that much love for the movie, but it was entertaining.

    • I don’t know how they do it either, but the ride is great.

      It would be a good type of movie to watch whenever its on, I used to have a few movies like that but I don’t watch enough live TV now to really get those opportunities.

  7. I’m not a big fan of this film, but it was the first DVD that we ever had in our house! My mother bought it back in 2000 when she bought her first computer (had a DVD drive). Man when I think about the two of us perching over her desk to watch it… lol!

  8. Nice post. LOVED this one as a kid and I watched it A LOT. Very fun. Oh, and yes, there’s a Mummy ride at California too.

    On another note, you wrote a review about a movie starring Brendan Fraser, so I feel obligated to share this:

  9. “The Mummy” is a watered-down version of the Indiana Jones movies, though what really angers me about it is where Indy’s films always have the themes of giving up your prized possessions for the sake of humanity, “The Mummy” is all about getting the wealth no matter what the cost. I actually liked the first sequel better, as it dropped a lot of the forced humor that made the first film unbearable for me to watch (such as the library shelves toppling over like dominoes). I refuse to watch the third because Rob Cohen directed it.

  10. I saw this film once when it first came to video. As a fan of classic Universal monsters I’ve just always struggled with it. The pace helps, but the focus on CGI effects left me feeling empty. I own it, but have not seen it since 2000.

    • I have a feeling that the reliance on CGI is part of the reason they are remaking/rebooting this franchise again. We owned it (actually the trilogy) on DVD that was still sealed from years ago so I decided to crack it open.

  11. Pingback: My December Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

