Captain Slickpants (12/15/12)

Captain SlickpantsMovie Two Hundred Eighty Three

A strange guy obsesses over asking out a waitress at his favorite restaurant and believes he finds his chance when she loses her wallet in Captain Slickpants.

We see Gregg (Ben Dietels), living alone in his deceased grandmother’s house, doing unique aerobic exercises and lighting off Roman candles in the yard. He opens his computer to see his best friend Steven’s (Ryan Lintner) video blog talking about how Gregg is going to finally ask out Vanessa (Danielle Dietels), a waitress at Gregg’s normal hangout that he has been obsessing over. After missing his chance and finding out that Vanessa is quitting at the restaurant, Gregg thinks all hope is lost until he finds Vanessa’s wallet in the parking lot and takes it as a sign that he has one last chance to ask her out.

You most likely have not heard of Captain Slickpants, I hadn’t either until I was contacted by Ben Dietels, who aside from starring in the film, also wrote and directed it. You can find more info about Captain Slickpants at the BPO Films website.

I’m always a bit weary about indie movies but I actually really enjoyed Captain Slickpants. It’s a simple story and is obviously made with love. I laughed a few times and was pretty impressed by the film considering it’s production seems to mainly consist of a few friends that enjoy making movies. It’s really what indie films should be. The only real complaint I have about Captain Slickpants is that the volume of the soundtrack is uneven, I had to adjust the volume on my TV two or three times because the music was too loud or the dialogue was too quiet.

Captain Slickpants is obviously not going to be for everyone. I thought there was a bit of a Napoleon Dynamite vibe to the film and the main character, Gregg, but others may not have that same feeling. I know indie comedies can be totally hit or miss with most folks, especially actual indie productions such as this, but I was left quite charmed by Captain Slickpants.

I give it 3 Captain Slickpants trailers out of 5.

If you think you might like a light quirky indie movie and want to give Captain Slickpants a shot, I can definitely pass on my copy of the film for viewing. Since it was sent to me for promotional purposes I wouldn’t feel right keeping it for myself and I’d like to help the filmmakers out. Email me at Andy@AndyWatchesMovies.com if you’re seriously interested.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

3 responses to “Captain Slickpants (12/15/12)

  1. Pingback: My December Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

