A Christmas Story (12/22/12 & 12/24/12)

A Christmas StoryMovie Two Hundred Ninety Two and Two Hundred Ninety Six

A Christmas Story is about a young boy’s quest for the ultimate Christmas gift: a BB gun.

Based on a memoir by Jean Shepherd (who narrates as adult Ralphie) about growing up in the 1940s in Indiana, the story focuses on the Parker family; brother Randy (Ian Petrella), and parents (Melinda Dillon and Darren McGavin) as told from the perspective of Ralphie (Peter Billingsley). Ralphie longs for an official Red Rider BB gun much to the chagrin of his worrisome mother and teacher.

My original plot overview basically covered the entire movie from start to finish so I had to hack off much of it just to keep this manageable. I have mentioned A Christmas Story as being one of my favorite movies ever and it’s a movie I have seen so many times it would be impossible to even guess the number. In fact, it’s unique that I only watched it twice this year since I usually watch it four or five times – in a row, often. It’s a tale I relate to and it’s a film I find hilarious every single time I watch it. To explain the importance A Christmas Story has to me would be impossible since I don’t wholly understand the appeal myself.

There are several Christmas movies that we usually watch during the season but to me, it’s not Christmas until A Christmas Story has been watched. Even now, more than a week after Christmas has come and gone, writing about A Christmas Story puts me back in the mood for Christmas. It’s kind of like when you drive past a BBQ restaurant and get hungry just smelling all those delicious meats (sorry, vegetarians).

Even in spite of my undying love of A Christmas Story, I would struggle to recommend it to someone that had never watched it before. I’m really not sure how much nostalgia has warped my perception of it. My wife had never really watched it before she met me and I believe she’s now a convert of the Almighty A Christmas Story, but I’m not sure if she really loves it the way I do even though she’s watched it a few dozen times by now.

To me, A Christmas Story is synonymous with the Christmas season. It’s a film I will never tire of and will force everyone around me to watch at least once a year. I even have a working replica of the Red Rider in the movie. I can hardly wait until next December rolls around so I can get a few more viewings of A Christmas Story in.

I give it 5 “stuck!”s out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

37 responses to “A Christmas Story (12/22/12 & 12/24/12)

  1. Oddly enough, when I saw Darren McGavin’s name of the cast list my first thought was, “How old is this movie??” Since he died in 2006. But honestly, I’d watch the movie just for McGavin who is one of my favourite actors. 😀

  2. There you go. Big fan. I like to hear this. I love it too, and when the season rolls around, I cant wait to watch it umpteen times. 😀 I wish I could make it my Movie That Everyone Should See every Christmas and just rewrite what’s great about it again and again. Alas.

    Why would you hesitate to recommend it to people, though? Trust me, its as good as you think, and then some…

  3. I haven’t seen this one yet, although over this holiday period I’ve gathered from numerous other bloggers that I really should have! I’ll try to get hold of it next year.

  4. Interesting point about the nostalgia value of the film.

    I hadn’t watched the film in a few years, and when I watched it again I have to admit some of the charm had gone. But it does have classic scenes.

  5. “Daddy’s gonna kill Ralphie!”

    I have seen this movie so many times over the years I think I have it memorized as much I have Monty Python and The Holy Grail memorized. The sequel was pretty forgettable.

  6. Agreed! It’s not Christmas until this movie is playing on a rotation 24 hours straight!

    I was shocked on how many people has NOT seen this movie. It’s like saying, “I’ve never opened my eyes before”. I have the exact same shocked face to both statements. When a friend tells me that they never saw this movie, for a split moment I question my friendship with them. LOL

  7. Honest to goodness, I just saw someone walk past me on the train on the way home from work today carrying a miniature leg lamp in its box. I’m a more recent convert, having seen it for the first time only a handful of years ago during one of the first TNT 24 hours of A Christmas Story. It’s a great movie, and I think one of it’s appealing aspects of it is the Family Guy-esque non-sequitors. It’s a great movie with a lot of heart behind it without the overlying sappiness that so many other Christmas movies have. Great great movie.

  8. I feel the same way about A Christmas Story! I managed to get my guy to watch it this Christmas (he’s never seen it before), but I warned him that it might just be a nostalgia/childhood thing that makes me like it so much. Turns out he quite liked it too! (Which means I can unapologetically make him watch it every Christmas from now on!!)

  9. Pingback: My December Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

