Super 8 (2/25/12)

Super 8Movie Thirty Seven

I wanted to love Super 8, I really did. When I read that the film is essentially a love letter to all great 80s movies involving kids having adventures and monsters, I knew I needed to see it. When I finally saw it I was elated but ultimately left unfulfilled.

Super 8 is about a group of kids in the 80s that are filming their own zombie movie when a train derails and things start getting weird. We eventually learn the train contained pieces of an alien spaceship (and also the alien) and he just wants to go home. Although I realize that sounds a lot like the plot of E.T., E.T. himself was not 30 feet tall and grotesquely scary…Well, at least not on grotesque on purpose.

In fact, the alien in Super 8 reminds me a lot of the monster in another J.J. Abrams flick, Cloverfield and apparently there’s a reason for that. So we have an alien terrorizing this town and the military moving in to keep things under wraps and re-secure the alien. Meanwhile, the kids are formulating their own plan to save a friend of theirs and save the day. If it sounds familiar, it is but that is also on purpose and is meant to be part of the charm of Super 8. It’s almost like if the Goonies were helping E.T. while E.T. destroys stuff.

If you grew up watching Steven Spielberg’s movies from the 80s then Super 8 is worth seeing, but the movie is slightly lengthy at nearly two hours. I thought it could have been a bit more focused during the middle because the ending felt rushed. Overall, I enjoyed Super 8 but I had higher hopes for it. When someone tells you “J.J. Abrams basically made a Steven Spielberg movie from the 80s” you instantly fall in love with that idea and the film just didn’t deliver that magic to me. I still found it highly enjoyable, but not the classic that it could have been.

I give it 4 Argus cubes out of 5.

Links:

Rotten Tomatoes

IMDB

3 responses to “Super 8 (2/25/12)

  1. I think I enjoyed this film a little more than you did, but I can see why you didn’t enjoy it as much as you expected to.

    Great performances by the kids, and a couple of stand-out action sequences made this one fly for me – the scene where the gang are running back through their combat-flattened small town was a confirmation that Abrams can stage mayhem and make it character-driven too.

    Best of luck with your goal to watch 300 movies this year – you’re a braver person than I…

  2. I enjoyed the film, I think I just had higher expectations than I should have had. Although if the goal of the film was to make me want to watch films like Goonies again, it definitely did the trick!

    Thanks for reading!

  3. Pingback: February Movies Round-Up | Andy Watches Movies

Leave a Reply

