Rest in peace, Mr. Ebert

I have been planning a “comeback” post soon to fill you all in on what is going on in my life, but this devastating event takes precedence. I cannot adequately express my feelings on how Roger Ebert has molded my views on movies so I will just say, “Mister Ebert, I will see you at the movies”.
Ebertfest is going to mean so much more this year.

Link to Sun-Times

16 responses to “Rest in peace, Mr. Ebert

  1. Glad to see you posting again, even if what motivated you was Ebert’s death 😦 It’s a sad loss but the man had been having a tough couple years, health-wise. At least he’s resting now.

  2. I read the Sun Times tribute at dinner. It was heartfelt and gracious to his memory. I watch him on PBS since the beginning till the last with Richard Roeper. He’s now in the screening room of the sky back with Gene Siskel. If I could turn the lights off for my blog in respect I would.

  3. It’s going to be very strange to not click on a movie’s imdb critic reviews, scroll directly to his and see what the man says about whichever new film. How very sad. And I look forward to the post you were originally planning.

  4. Ah! Yes!! It’s Andy! Back again!

    But yeah. This really killed my day yesterday. I’m still pretty depressed. You should see my most recent Facebook post…I’m now (honest to god) viewing film as a religion, sacraments of popcorn and soda and all. It was just an obsession before. 🙂 And Ebert is the prophet. This was holy week.

    “There is no god but those of celluloid, and Ebert are their prophets.”

    (I might have to workshop that a touch though.)

  5. To be honest, I’ve only heard ‘of’ the bloke, I’ve not read his reviews. But fair play to the sentiments.

    Glad to see you’re still with us, Andy.

Leave a comment